![light-virus-1[1]](http://www.flawlesshustle.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/light-virus-11.jpg)
What’s good everyone,
To keep this short and sweet, as of last month I noticed that advertisers on Usershare have been sneaking trojans into their ads. Recently I emailed Usershare about the issue, and they basically told me it wasn’t their problem, and they’d look into it. Here’s the email in its entirety (please read from the bottom up).
<hav@flawlesshustle.com>
wrote:
Well, I’m using Avast Antivirus (free edition) which found the issue on the page. What I’d do is next time you guys spot it on the site, take a screenshot of the banners on the page, and bring it back to the network to let them know. In most cases they will ignore you as you mentioned, but the best thing you can do is figure out who did it, so you won’t have to work with them again. I’ve seen this on other upload sites as well, and it even happened to my site, so I know how frustrating it can be. Good Luck!
—–Original Message—–
From: Usershare [mailto:support@usershare.net]
Sent: Thursday, January 07, 2010 9:59 PM
To: XXXXX
Subject: RE: New message from UserShare contact form
Sure we’d appreciate any help possible.I will send it to both of our ad providers, but I am certain they will say they dont have anything to do with that website, :) it has happened before, with pop-up related ads.I know google wont deal with them so I will check the other one.
Thank you
On Thu, 7 Jan 2010 18:05:22 -0500, “XXXX”
<hav@flawlesshustle.com>
wrote:
> Right, if you mention it to the ad servers they can pinpoint which advertiser is using your site to serve Trojans. I work in advertising, let me know if you need help.
> —–Original Message—–
> From: Usershare [mailto:support@usershare.net]
> Sent: Thursday, January 07, 2010 3:40 PM
> To: XXXX
> Subject: RE: New message from UserShare contact form
>
> We have no business with that website/URL .We use 3 ad system only.But we will keep an eye out for anything suspicious.
Thank you
>
> On Thu, 7 Jan 2010 14:32:57 -0500, “XXXX”
> <hav@flawlesshustle.com>
> wrote: The domain that’s doing it is not actually google analytics, it’s eicyxtaecun.com/
>>
>> —–Original Message—–
>> From: support@usershare.net [mailto:support@usershare.net]
>> Sent: Monday, January 04, 2010 7:06 PM
>> To: hav@flawlesshustle.com
>> Subject: Re: New message from UserShare contact form
>>
>> Fixed.Thabk you, but it isn’t a trojan, google analytics seem to be doing that.We have removed it.
>>
>> Thank you
>> ——Original Message——
>> From: UserShare@premium.usershare.net
>> To: support@usershare.net
>> To: abuse@usershare.net
>> Subject: New message from UserShare contact form
>> Sent: Jan 4, 2010 6:43 PM
>>
>> You’ve got new message from UserShare.
>>
>> Name: hav
>> E-mail: hav@flawlesshustle.com
>> IP: 74.66.18.203
>>
>> Just wanted to let you know that one of your advertisers is placing trojans on your site.
>>
>> I clicked on this link:
>>
>> http://usershare.net/2DopeBoyz/o0b88xspxfwz
>>
>> and apparently there was some sort of banner or injection taking place which tried to place a file on my computer. Here’s the log.
>>
>>
>> 1/4/2010 6:38:29 PM SYSTEM 1544 Sign of "e;JS:Pdfka-TW
>> [Expl]"e; has been found in http://google.com.analytics.eicyxtaecun.com/nte/trest11.php/oHd6d2998
cV03006f35002R7bd67009102T9d90e27eQ000002fc901801F002a000aJ0f000601l0409K736
>> c8b45317"e; file.
I really hope you guy fix this up, this is the same reason most people switched from zshare over to you guys in the first place.
>> Sent on the Usershare Mobility network with BlackBerry
Since then I’ve gotten 3 viruses from Usershare, and have decided it’s enough for me. It’s pretty bad when you try to run a legit site, to help artists, and help listeners enjoy music but instead end up fucking up their computer because of a 3rd party site. So after running it by the crew, I felt it necessary to address the community to see if we can move past Usershare, and use some of the alternatives that are out there. Now, nothing against Usershare itself, I’ve seen other sites such as Zshare which have had the same exact problem.
Here are some alternatives which have yet to get overloaded with viruses:
I know some of the sites above aren’t as easy to use, and have wait times and all that, but I think it’s worthwhile to wait for something, as long as it’s a clean site.
If you want to suggest more clean sites for artists and bloggers to use, please leave a comment and I’ll update the list.
If you wish to support this movement, please do so. I think we’re all in it for the same reasons, and are trying to look out for each other.
Peace and respect,
Hav @ Flawless
EDIT: (1/22/2010) Looks like limelinx is also suffering from the same issue. This time I saved a screenshot. Cick to enlarge.

For those of you who want to read up on what the Trojan actually does, you can do so on http://www.symantec.com/security_response/writeup.jsp?docid=2003-102718-1528-99 Semantec’s website .
Below is an email from the heads at Limelinx on the situation.
From: Limelinx [info@limelinx.com]
We will do our best to find the culprit and stop them from doing this.
We have forwarded your email to Adbrite because the One page ad is from Adbrite…let’s hope they’ll stop it.
We really have no intentions of abusing people’s computer…ads are just a way to earn money and we really wanna earn our visitors trust, but there are some really nasty people who just abuse the system to hack and violate other computers through their ad networks.
Sorry for the inconvenience…
We really have no control over this as you said…let’s just hope it’ll get fixed
Cheers and thanks for reporting it
LL
GD Star Rating
loading...